Neglect!

I must admit that I have neglected this here a bit too much lately, despite the fact that I started out with the best intentions to keep it up. I have just been going through a bad and busy phase of my life, so it feels like I haven’t had time to share anything on here. Well, I probably have had the time, I just didn’t feel up to it.

Along with that, a few other things have taken a slide. I don’t think I’ve been on a long run since mid-January, seeing as I have been going home most weekends to see friends and work things out, and carrying an extra pair of running shoes and set of clothes back was the last thing on my mind. However, I have had the most liberating run today (I don’t know why), but I guess familiar tunes and an unfamiliar route was great in helping me take my mind off things.

I think that it’s amazing (not really in a good sense) how your emotions can affect you so much. I am not condoning obsessive thought processes in any way whatsoever; it’s just crazy how thinking about things over and over again (and having no control over these thoughts) can completely debilitate you and alienate you from the rest of life. Yeh, you might go to the gym and do everything looking like you’re normal, but inside no one can see your inner anguish. Or maybe they can – it just depends on how well your face is good at hiding things (or giving it away). Trying to juggle that with concentrating on things is difficult, especially when you’re trying to learn something new that requires your full attention.

I’m not sure how close I am to making it through, but this week I have certainly been feeling more positive about things, following some blunt advice from a friend. Soon I will be back to focusing on the positives again, but maybe I should learn from this that the negatives do need a bit more attention from time to time, instead of ignoring them/bottling them up until they all explode at once.

 

Anyhoo, that’s all for now!

Oh, and I’ve found that intervals and weight training have been the best things for keeping my fitness ticking over during this rough patch. I want to come out at the end of 2014 faster and stronger than before 🙂

Leave a comment